Quick Links

The IB Programme

The International Baccalaureate (IB) programme is a comprehensive and rigorous two-year curriculum, leading to certificates in individual subjects or a Diploma. The International Baccalaureate provides an international pre-university curriculum and an international university entrance qualification. The IB is gained by externally moderated course work and externally set exams following two years of study at the end of upper secondary education. Based on the pattern of no single country, the IB programme is a deliberate combination of the specialisation required in some national systems and the breadth preferred in others. The general objectives of the IB are:

  • To improve and extend international understanding through a shared academic experience;
  • To facilitate geographic and cultural mobility for students in the international community;
  • To work in collaboration with national education systems in developing a rigorous, balanced and innovative international curriculum.

The program is supported by the Learner Profile (source ibo.org).

Subjects within the IB curriculum are organised into six subject groups: Studies in Language and Literature, Language Acquisition, Individuals and Societies, Sciences, Mathematics, and The Arts (source ibo.org).

ISA offers the following IB subjects:

  • Group 1 Studies in Language and Literature English Language & Literature, Native Language Self-Taught (by special arrangement).
  • Group 2 Language Acquisition French, Spanish, French ab initio, Spanish ab initio.
  • Group 3 Individuals and Societies Economics, Environmental Systems and Societies, History, Psychology.
  • Group 4 Sciences Biology, Chemistry, Physics.
  • Group 5 Mathematics Maths Standard Level, Maths Studies, Maths Higher Level.
  • Group 6 The Arts: Visual Arts; Music; or a second subject from Group 2-4.

All IB Diploma candidates are required to take one subject from each of the groups. At least three and no more than four of the six subjects are taken at the Higher Level, the others at Standard Level. ISA offers many subject options at both levels.

Each examined subject is graded on a scale of 1 (minimum) to 7 (maximum). The award of the Diploma requires a minimum total of 24 points and the satisfactory completion of three additional requirements.

Additional distance learning options are available through Pamoja with fees for these non-ISA courses being met by the family of the student (www.pamojaeducation.com).

Accredited by

International Baccalaureate Council of International Schools Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools Cambridge International Examinations CNED